Spring in Amsterdam and whatnot

2010.04.08. 18:41 poraten

Spring has finally arrived to Amsterdam and the city has properly woken up from its dormancy. Chairs and tables are set up outside the cafes and restaurants along the canals, tulips and daffodils for sale can be found in every corner. The Amsterdamers find every excuse to wear this years fashionable sunglasses (not that I actually know what that is, as my fashion skills is below acceptable...;) ). However, I feel extremely trendy when it comes to running fashion nowadays having bought a new shoes, socks and trousers.

The shoes are white and pink (being a girl the colour is just as important as the fit for purpose of the shoe!), and matches very nicely with my black and purple running tights, which only go half way down the calf, which is good now that the temperature is getting higher!

Two weeks ago I moved to a new apartment (having literally been kicked out of my old one due to new government regulations for certain properties). This meant I had 6 weeks to find somewhere else to live. But as they say, every cloud has a silver lining cause although it was a nightmare to find a new place in this highly popular city, I finally found the most amazing 1 bedroom apartment right by a chanal in the city centre, with a standard and lay-out that is far better than my old place.

This also means that my route has been slightly adjusted when running to Vondelpark with considerably more traffic lights to pass by, which wastes precious time (but unofficially it is also nice to be able to catch you breath during these short traffic light breaks. ;) ). Anyhow, went for a run last week doing only 1 lap around the park which ended up being 7km. Because I wasn't in the mood for running a long distance, I decided to focus on the speed. Being half dead by the end of the run I calculated that my speed had been 5.1 min per km (i.e. total running time 36 min). This is good in itself BUT it also made me realise that if I am to run the 22km in 1 hour 50 min, this is the tempo I need to keep throughout the full run! SH*T! So I guess I have finally managed to understand the challenge that I'm up for. The length wont be a problem but the time will!

So I told you dear Hungarian friends previously that I have signed up for the Stockholm half marathon in September. Now, some new developments on the races have come my way. My friend have realised that she won't be able to run "Öresundsloppet" which is a half marathon held on the bridge between Malmö in Sweden and Copenhagen, Denmark in June. This means that I get to take her place instead, so my first half marathon will be held in 2.5 months! I guess that this is a good indicator of where I am with my trainingand what I need to be doing during the summer to get fit enough for Amsterdam half marathon!

Now I'm going to head out for a run and test my new running equipment. :)

11 komment

Címkék: pink spring plans oresund

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://futo.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr91905267

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

flicka 2010.04.08. 22:26:00

Hej Ann, You will do your best in June and the bunch of virtual supporters here will do their best...so you'll make it easily. :-) Anyhow, no doubt, pink shoes bring success.

monerd2 2010.04.09. 01:57:15

good luck in june. I think you'll definitely manage around 2 hours. wouldn't that already mean your original goal is achieved? (your friend's 1:45 plus 15 mins)
but sure, 1:50 sounds a lot better than 2:00 :)
and a 7km in 36mins is pretty good esp for a girl who started a couple of months ago.

Nylonman 2010.04.09. 08:24:01

Oh my gosh! Is this the current fashion trend? So I think that I must buy blond hairdyer, and a Ken costume for this running season:)))
Good luck in that race and beware the wind on the bridge!

Zime 2010.04.09. 12:29:24

Hey, I want to run that bridge...sometime! :) Is it a regular yearly race? Where/how to apply?

FutoBolond 2010.04.09. 22:23:34

"The Amsterdamers find every excuse to wear this years fashionable sunglasses"

Errr, is this the same Amsterdam I know with 24/7 clouds on the sky? :P

Anyway, old rule of thumb: the less your shoe's color suited for streetwear, the better fit for running. This pink flash tone perfectly fulfill this requirement :)

poraten 2010.04.10. 13:11:35

and for the record- the shoes are great to run in, so yes I'm really starting to be believe that the colour has something to do with it :-)

The Öresundsbro run between Copenhagen and Sweden has taken place every year since the bridge opened in 2000. However due to the high costs of closing the bridge for the event it has been decided that 2010, on it's 10th anniversary, will be the last race held. For more info you can check out: www.broloppet2010.se/

Zime 2010.04.10. 20:52:15

@poraten: Too bad... :( Thanks anyway!

kg_kilo 2010.04.15. 11:40:13

Nah I remember I got sunburnt once in/aroond Amsterdam. But those tons of tulips & daffodils are missing for sure.

Running on the bridge sounds fun indeed but if there is wind (and I guess there will be wind) you gonna suffer a lot. So if you don't meet the time you aim for, don't give a damn.

Take one 'n' from 'damn' and we could associate to the Maasdijk Marathon near Oss that I've just heard of and would love to do once, preferably on skates. For the record, this is a route you can complete a marathon running, skating or *canoing* on the channels :)
maasdijkmarathon.kwaaijongens.nl/

kg_kilo 2010.04.15. 14:32:49

poraten: yer shoes in the header, wow :)

Futóblog

Ez itt a Futóblog. Szasza, Bitliszbá, SeSam, Szuflavéder és angelday írnak a futásról és a sportról.

Próbáltad már a Futócuccokat?

Tömegsport a Nike-val, velük együtt a Facebookon

  

Nike Running Hungary on Facebook

Friss topikok

süti beállítások módosítása