Amsterdam party report #2

2010.01.15. 15:11 poraten

Yesterday I bought myself a pedometer figuring that it would be the most straight forward thing. Just press "start" and everything magically just works. I opened up the box, and saw the 4 buttons on it (Mode, adjust, reset and EL) and a 5 page manual. Despite this, I STILL haven't figured out how it works (and the irony is that I actually happen to work in an IT department... I should be ashamed ;) ) That aside, I routed my journey on "mapmyride.com" to get the distance, so now I know that from my apartment to one of Amsterdam's most famous parks, Vondelpark, it is 2.45km, and a lap around the park is 2.34. So in total, my "standard run" (at least to start with for now) is 7km -- always nice to have a benchmark!

At 15:00 this Sunday afternoon I had finally run out of excuses (laundry, hovering my apartment, several Skype dates and a lunch date with a friend of mine) to why I shouldn't challenge the weather (and myself) and go out for a run. The real decider for my decision however was the thought of my competitor being out running on that day -- so I better keep up to speed with him (btw his time is around 1hr 50 min so this is my aim too!).

Looking like a Santa Claus in my 5 layers of clothes I managed to avoid any slipping on the ice, duck for the x amount of snow balls flying around the park and get a time of 45 min -- a bit disappointing considering that it was slower than last time. Perhaps I can blame it on one of the stop lights that held me up in denial of the real reason being getting in bed at 3:30 after several cocktails the night before? ;)

Did the stretching at home to avoid any painful muscle ache the next day, but the bigger problem are the shins (sípcsont -- a szerk.) which I'm starting to feel a bit of pain in... Does anyone have any good suggestions on how to avoid painful shins??? Any tip is welcome! I was thinking for now to just run once a week (instead of two) to let me legs (and shins) adjust to the fact that I'm actually running and compensate this lack of exercise by going swimming once a week as well.

Figured that to make the most of my training I'm also biking to work now, which is app. 8 km each direction. It's nice to get some fresh air every day and I can already see progress during the past days as now it only takes me app. 30 min (instead of 40) to get to work. Additionally, I'm not on the edge of collapse at the end of it. (Although I cannot deny the fact that I still come to work with cheeks red as tomatoes and slightly out of breath to my colleagues delight!)

That was it for now -- tomorrow I hope to check out the swimming pool and see how good my skills in the water are!

10 komment

Címkék: amsterdam running benchmark shins

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://futo.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr321672202

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

M.Islander 2010.01.15. 19:32:58

well, everything is slower during the cold season, including runners
my way to avoid shin pain during the winter season is to buy a monthly pass for treadmill workout to avoid outdoor running below 8 degrees centigrade :o) --- i.e. my shins are also cold-sensitive, I felt this sensation for 2-3 days and that is not very inspirational.
an other workaround is to buy some thicker compression socks to keep your shins warm (the treadmill workout is cheaper and you can have some decent interval runs).

good luck, M.

BGy · http://babosi.blog.hu 2010.01.15. 20:27:14

You are running, you are swimming, you are cycling. Why don't you prepare yourself for a hawaiian ironman (ironwoman)? :)))
After the first 1-2 km my shins are aching. But the pain expires during the next 1 km. I think your shins have to harden, 7 km is not a distance for the novices. When will the halfmarathon be held exactly?

monerd2 2010.01.16. 00:17:26

hey there. :)
I'll reply here to your previous comment :) as for the half marathon being a "relatively short distance", the idea is that once you are able to run 15km at an easy pace (no point in killing yourself in the first few kilometers!), 21km is not that much more and you should be able to run it with no problems.
of course completing it within 2 hours is a bit more of a challenge but you should still have enough time to get up to speed (yeah, when exactly is the race?). :)
as for your shins: if mikael's tips don't help, it's possible you are running too fast or too far (in terms of distance) for a complete beginner so if the pain doesn't get better, you need to be very careful.

monerd2 2010.01.16. 00:22:09

oh, I failed to notice first time that you intend to run only once or twice a week, I think that's not going to be enough for proper exercise so I'd suggest going out more often (3 times a week) to have your body get used to running even if at the cost of decreasing the pace.

WITCH · http://witch-ironman.blog.hu 2010.01.17. 13:39:44

Szerintem érdemes lenne lefordítanotok:

Persze, nagyon sokan vagyunk akik értik, mert nagyon jól olvasnak Angolul bármit, de azért gondoljunk azokra is akik nem...

WITCH · http://witch-ironman.blog.hu 2010.01.17. 13:46:46

"lefordítanotok *is*" - így helyesebb.

Maradjon meg az Angol is, (a tartalom és a kifejezések eredeti feelingje miatt), de csinálhatnátok az ilyen posztokhoz fordításokat is - szerintem kb 10 perc extra munka...

"Célcsoport elérés, targeting", érted... 8)

angelday 2010.01.17. 13:58:02

Megfelelő igény esetén nem zárkóznám el a dologtól, de itt a koncepció az érdekesebb.

poraten 2010.01.17. 16:30:05

great suggestion- increase number of runs per week but at a slower pace- thanks for that!
As for the date, the marathon and half marathon in Amsterdam is taking place on Sunday the 17th of October, so I hope it is feasible for me to build up a good condition by then to do it in two (or less...) hours, what do the expert think?

monerd2 2010.01.18. 03:40:48

oh, october is a long way from january... you should be OK by then :)
so yes, my suggestion in a nutshell is start by doing more runs and when you got to the point where you can easily do longer distances at an easy pace (10-15 km), you can then start working on getting faster by adding specific interval/speed training. by that time it should be spring, so the weather will be perfect for that. oh, you could also try working with a heart rate monitor.
by the way I'm also going to run my first half marathon this year; but I've read a lot about training theories and started applying them and already feel the improvement regarding my previously non-existent endurance :)

monerd2 2010.01.18. 03:42:01

többiek: OK, én szívesen ideírom magyarul is a hozzászólásaim, ha vkit tényleg érdekel. :)

Futóblog

Ez itt a Futóblog. Szasza, Bitliszbá, SeSam, Szuflavéder és angelday írnak a futásról és a sportról.

Próbáltad már a Futócuccokat?

Tömegsport a Nike-val, velük együtt a Facebookon

  

Nike Running Hungary on Facebook

Friss topikok

süti beállítások módosítása